History of Jefferson Rotary

History of Jefferson Rotary


Prior to 1935, the only Rotary Club in Jefferson County was the Watertown club which, in June 1935, sponsored the Jefferson Club. In 1937, the Jefferson Club, in turn, sponsored the Fort Atkinson Rotary Club – a fact that proud Jeffersonians don’t allow those from Fort Atkinson to forget.

The Jefferson Banner, in its May 16th, 1935 edition, mentioned the formation of the Jefferson club as follows: “Special meeting held at City Hall of Jefferson, Wisconsin, at 5:00 p.m., May 8th, 1935, for the purpose of election of officers and application for charter of Rotary Club of Jefferson, Wisconsin. The meeting was called to order by Mr. A. F. Mayer, Watertown Rotarian, who acted as chair thereafter.”

The following applications were examined and upon motion duly made, seconded and unanimously carried, with no objections, said applications were accepted and placed on record as charter members:

Ray O. Fischer
V. A. Hetland
Alfred Busse
H. M. Houghton
Henry J. Grell
Paul Widman
John Angel
N. J. Bruan
Ele Schweiger Ray S. Smith
H. R. Fox
C. J. Mueller
Theodore Freepartner
E. Phillip Mueller
E. J. Sanborn
E. L. Reuter
Ray M. Schweiger
G. F. Genzler

The first officers of the club were:

Ray Smith, President
H. R. Fox, Vice President
H. M. Houghton, Secretary
A. A. Busse, Treasurer
Edward Schulz, Sergeant-at-Arms